Life

Book-Tag: Spring Has Sprung

Now that we’re in May, it’s safe to say Spring is here. Not least because you can definitely hear the hay-fever sufferers. I might even go so far as to say that it’s feeling a bit like Summer now. Certainly, we’ve had a few more sunny days than previously, and the flowers are all beginning to bloom, and you can hear people moaning about having to cut the grass again.

For me, the things which show it’s Spring are the bluebells and the wild garlic. I love the smell of wild garlic.

So for this month’s book-tag, it’s this one I found called Spring Has Sprung.

FLOWERS

Look on your shelves. What is the most beautiful book both inside and out?

Chocolat by Joanne Harris. I’ve read it in English and Swedish and it had the same effect both times. There was just something about the way it affected the senses and sparked the imagination, the colours and the scents and just everything. And the copy I have is Cadbury’s purple.

GRASS

What is a book that you find others like way more than you do?

Wuthering Heights by Charlotte Bronte. The characters, particularly the silly female, all behaved stupidly. I didn’t really warm to any of them, except perhaps the gypsy, and although I perfectly understood his later behaviour, I found it all a bit much, really. Too many dark and stormy nights, I think.

RAIN

What’s a great book that lifts your spirits when you’re down?

It’s not really a book, but almost any of Georgette Heyer’s romances. They’re what you might call intelligent chick-lit (and I can hear her turning in her grave at being thus described – she was plagiarised by Barbara Cartland once and she wrote that if it had been anyone else she might not have minded, but that woman!). Happy endings and witty characters and good historical detail. Could almost be reading a Jane Austen.

DEW

Which book made you feel alive?

I don’t think I ever have. Books which make me happy or sad, yes, but not alive.

STORMS

Which book did you find unpredictable?

The Nine Tailors by Dorothy L. Sayers. The murderer really isn’t who you think it might be!

RAINBOWS

What was a book that you struggled with only to be happy
that you read it in the end?

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien. It took me a while, and a uni course, to read it, but I got there in the end. I’m glad I did, but I’m not hugely sure if I would again. The Hobbit, yes, but I might let my kids read TLOTR themselves.

CHILLY WEATHER

What’s a book that you couldn’t finish or didn’t enjoy?

Perfume by whoever it was. I read it, or attempted to read it, for a book club at college, and don’t think I even got half way. It was too dark and oppressive. And yet I heard such good things about it.

WARM WEATHER

Which book did you love and want more of?

So, so many. At random, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, and I was so glad to discover I didn’t have to wait for the sequels! Or at least, only as long as it took for me to rush out and buy them.

GREEN

Which book have you not read yet but really want to?

The two sequels to ChocolatLollipop Shoes and Peaches for Monsieur le Cure. I have Lollipop Shoes; it’s somewhere amongst my library. At my parents’, I believe.  

PINK

Which book made you feel a strong connection to the characters?

The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera. I don’t know why.

PURPLE

Which book makes you feel safe when you read it?

Most books make me feel safe. It’s the Real World I have trouble with.

ORANGE

Which book do you feel is intelligently written?

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley. I thought it was neatly written and beautifully woven and delicately wound. And I liked the clockwork octopus.

YELLOW

Which book puts a smile on your face?

The Hogfather by Terry Pratchett. Really, need I say more?

 

As always, if you feel inclined to answer these questions yourself, consider yourself tagged.

Leave a Reply

