Books

The Invisible Library

Imagine a library which contains at least one copy of everything ever printed in this world. Imagine one which contains copies from many alternative realities of this world.

Now imagine one which sends its librarians to these alternative realities to collect these copies, often in perilous situations, sometimes facing the supernatural or the magical.

Welcome to Irene’s world.

I read The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman for two reasons:

  1. It’s about a library. Full of books and magic.
  2. The pretty gold pattern on the front cover. I know, shallow, but I can live with that. I like pretty books.

I continued reading because it was amusing, and I liked Irene and her assistant Kai and the various minor characters, and the alternative London they’ve been sent to.

Perhaps I’ve been reading the wrong books, but I like it when the heroine isn’t a teenager. It seems that too many of them are, in these sorts of books (maybe it’s just the ones in Popular Fiction), and it’s good to find a heroine who isn’t, and is reasonably sensible and clear-headed.

And I want to work for the Library. Books are so much better than people.

The next in the series is on my reading list.

Leave a Reply

