Twenty-First Century Books

Titanicus

Aside from my TBR pile of books, I discovered an entire bookcase full of books I haven’t read. There are several reasons for this.

1 – They are my husband’s books. Not really a reason not to read them, I know, but they’re his and he doesn’t read mine.

2 – They’re sci-fi books. Again not really a reason, but sci-fi doesn’t normally interest me.

3 – They’re Warhammer books, which are based on a Games Workshop thing, which reminds me of Mass Effect, and I’m not a gamer.

But, because there is this bookcase full of the books, and they’re pretty much the only books he’ll read, I thought it was about time I gave at least one a go. To see what the fuss was about.

So I asked him, and he said to begin with Titanicus by Dan Abnett.

Titanicus is about the war of Orestes Forge, between the Mechanicus/Imperium forces and the Archenemy, which are Mechanicus machines gone rogue. At least, that’s the impression I got from reading the whole book. But anyway, the Archenemy are trying to capture Orestes Forge, which does…something…Not quite clear on that point, but it didn’t really detract from the story.

I was pleasantly surprised. Once I got past the first chapter or two and learned the world-specific terms and language and accepted the fact that there’s this whole history which won’t be explained by reading just one novel, actually, I really enjoyed Titanicus. I started reading out of interest, and I kept reading because it was a good book. (My husband kept asking if I was being sarcastic when I said I was enjoying it, or this bit was being particularly exciting. I wasn’t. Some bits really were quite exciting.)

Only, of course, this has now added a bookcase full of books to my TBR pile…

Leave a Reply

