Life

Unpopular Opinions Book-Tag

I keep seeing these book-tags on others’ blogs, and enjoying both the questions (for they make me think about my own reading) and the answers, so I thought I’d start, occasionally, doing them myself. Nobody’s tagged me, I’m being rude and joining in the conversation anyway.

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like?

A Song of Ice and Fire by GRRMartin. I tried Game of Thrones. It took me about six months to get not even half way through, at which point I admitted to myself that I probably wasn’t going to get any further. Didn’t help that I knew that the rule of thumb is: If you like a character, s/he’ll die. I didn’t like the many perspectives either.

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seemed to hate but you loved?

I don’t think I have any ‘guilty secret’ books. Such a shame!

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with or an OTP that you didn’t like?

I think, generally speaking, with the love-threads I read, characters tend to end up with the person I want them to. The only one I can really remember not is Jane Austen in Becoming Jane, where I really wanted artistic licence (and therefore due disregard to the truth) to have her end up with What’s-his-name.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for?

Fast-paced Thrillers – the sort with really short chapters and really big print. Like Dan Brown or James Patterson. I read a Patterson once which was described as something along the lines of being like reading a Bruce Willis film. Well, actually, I’d rather watch one of those.

5. A popular or beloved character you don’t like?

Actually can’t think of any. I suppose if I didn’t like the character I was supposed to, I out the book down and didn’t try to remember them or their story.

6. A popular author that you can’t stand?

James Patterson or Dan Brown. See above.

7. A popular book trope you are tired of seeing? (Ex: lost princess, corrupt ruler…)

Historical (especially Regency) romances with badly behaved heroes and heroines. Especially if written by an ‘heir to Heyer’. She’d be appalled. And probably apply for injunctions. Does that count as a book trope?

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading?

Twilight, or has that reached the ‘series we all love to hate’ stage? Likewise Fifty Shades.

9. The saying goes, “the book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Stardust, by Neil Gaiman. Although the book was probably ruined by the fact that I saw the film first.

 

Leave a Reply

