Life

The Liebster Award

A while ago, back when I was a little less neglectful, Kelee Morris (https://keleemorris.wordpress.com/ – not good with hyperlinks, sorry) nominated this little blog of mine for the Liebster Award.

She asked first, and I said yes, and then forgot about it. I’ve been having an otherwise busy month, which is no excuse I know, but you know how life goes. There’s been a certain amount of book-recovery from my childhood bedroom, which means I’ve been rereading books. Reacquainting myself with old friends. Some are books I haven’t read in at least a decade. Others are ones I bought to complete a set but never read for one reason or another. A feeling that perhaps I’d grown out of them, maybe. If that was it, well, now I feel like I’ve grown back into them.

Anyway, the Liebster award is a way of sharing the love for new or small blogs, those with a readership of under 200. It involves nominating other blogs to answer about a dozen questions. I’m not so good with the whole nominating other blogs thing, so I’m just going to say – if the above criteria applies to you, and you feel like answering some questions, I’ll list some below and you can give it a go, too. Just tag me back so I can see your answers 🙂

So. My questions from Kelee.

  1. Why did you start your blog?
    I like to write and I thought writing a blog would help me to organise my thoughts. I also like to read and to talk about books, but haven’t yet found a suitable book-club.
  2. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you choose? I shall presume money isn’t a factor, so – depends on my mood. Some days I’d like to be in a big city, others out on the moors miles from anyone or anywhere.
  3. Are you spring, summer, fall, or winter?
    I tend to think of the year in terms of Summer or Winter, anyway. I’m mostly a sunshine-person, but I do like a nice fire when it’s cold outside.
  4. What are you passionate about? Books and stories and words.
  5. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I like me as I am. Unless more books counts? Can never have too many books.
  6. Who are your favorite authors?
    Check out my About page – Georgette Heyer and Dorothy L. Sayers. But there are many, many books, series and authors whom I adore and wish I had even half of their talent.
  7. What advice would  you give to aspiring writers? Write, and read. Lots of both. As they say, practise makes perfect.
  8. Cats or dogs?
    Cats. Always cats. Every single time. But I would like a hound – a wolfhound or an Afghan (Prince What-a-Mess was a favourite book when I was little). Something like that.
  9. If you could go back in time and mentor your sixteen-year-old self, what would you tell her?
    Don’t forget to save your work.
  10. Where would you like to be five years from now?
    Happy. I’m happy now, I don’t want that to change. How I’ll be happy, I don’t know. But I want to be happy.
  11. What’s under your bed?
    Holdalls and suitcases that don’t fit anywhere else, to provide happy homes for spiders.

My questions for anyone who wants a go:

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. Who is (are) your favourite author(s)?
  3. Which book would you take with you to a deserted island?
  4. What’s your favourite sort of music?
  5. Which fictional world would you live in (as you), if you could?
  6. Which fictional character would you like to be?
  7. Dessert or Cheese?
  8. Cats or Dogs?
  9. How do you procrastinate?
  10. Best piece of advice you’ve ever heard?
  11. What’s your favourite colour?
Leave a Reply

