Books

Death at Dawn

Normally, I’m a Golden-Age detective reader. I like crime novels with seemingly impossible murders which run for a sensible length and, if a series, are a stand-alone sort of series. You know, where it doesn’t matter which order you read them in because they don’t have much bearing on each other. Like Miss Marple or Poirot.

I found Death at Dawn by Caro Peacock in my local library and thought I’d give it a try.

It’s earlier than the Golden Age, being set around the succession of Queen Victoria.

The victim is Thomas Jacques Lane, allegedly shot in a duel (which his daughter asserts he would never have taken part in) in Calais, and the investigator his daughter Liberty. The investigations link the death of Lane to the death of William IV and the subsequent accession of Victoria. Treason and murder in the highest echelons of British society.

I liked the appearance of Benjamin Disraeli at a dinner party. A nice touch in amongst the foolishness of the rest of it. The rest of the story just felt all a little too far-fetched and unbelievable and there were several times during my reading when I just had to put it down because it was getting a little silly. Not that I have anything against silly books, sometimes they’re just what’s required, but I won’t go out of my way to read them in normal circumstances.

And I didn’t think all too highly of Death at Dawn. Must admit, I’m generally not too impressed by murder mysteries which turn into large-scale conspiracies and sort-of thrillers.

Leave a Reply

