Books

War of the Worlds

When it comes to books, I like print copies. I feel that if I’m going to pay for a book, I want to actually hold it in my hands, to smell the ink and paper, flick effortlessly through to find my favourite bits.

I do though own a Kindle. I have done for a few years. We’re not the best of friends. Paper’s just so much better.

On the other hand, one good thing about the Kindle is having free copies of classic novels. And when it comes to some of those hefty tomes, an eBook can be preferable, especially when you’re travelling. When I first got my Kindle, I did spend a while downloading lots of them. And then didn’t read them. They’ve been sat there, gathering electronic dust, ever since.

And now I think I’d better read them on my bus-journeys. Then maybe collect print copies of the ones I like, and consign the rest to history.

So I started with The War of the Worlds by H.G.Wells.

This is one I won’t be hurrying to buy. I wasn’t particularly enthralled by it. I would like to hear the Orson Welles radio-adaptation, though. I can imagine it being a very good radio-play. As a novel, though, I felt it lacked something. Not sure what, though.

But I had to follow it up with Arthur Conan Doyle’s A Study in Scarlet. I loved Sherlock Holmes when I first discovered him at 10 – I love him still.

 

 

3 thoughts on “War of the Worlds

    1. I greatly prefer Print books too – I read so much more slowly on the Kindle, which probably doesn’t help with getting into trickier reads. I got it while I was living abroad – and then chose to make use of the local library anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

